Just a window to her world…

in this same prim way she ponders

In the rather short span of my life, I’d always kept some room in my time and day to look at the smallest things in life and enjoy, experience and understand it all…In the same way a little girl would do when a small garden-snail is seen on th cobbled, wet ground.  I found one interesting thing, an animal, which turned my life around and changed the big world of my own. Nora was her name: a cat of tortishell colour and she was a stray cat, I would always find her in our building. Unlike many strays she was not timid or rabid, in fact, I later soon found myself to be so! As I had accidentally slammed the door and it’d hit her small, furry face…I never forgave myself after that day.

There are many things you can tell about a cat, some cats would appear like any other ordinary cat but it takes a real, special furry feline to captivate your heart and enchant your vision and mind. This little cat, Nora, did exactly that and more! She was always by my side as I would go on my way to the usual language-lessons I’d attended early every morning, as if meeting me at the door and then bidding farewell as she merely sits upright, tail curled neatly around her prim cuddled-together fore and hindlegs.

…I just want to make mention that such a cat- being a cat– appeared to have a rather human intellect and understanding. I would never know if she ever had previous owners but she certainly had a good pedigree and bloodline, as  I later learnt to fight against all odds and brave the struggles you face in life and that it is part of Life, normal; in the same way the most difficult time for her was when she struggled during pregnancy, Nora gave birth behind a rusty old gate, and a pack of stray, dirty dogs came rushing upstairs hungrily. This wise, old mother-cat only sat primly behind and intelligently looked up in the dark as two, three or four snouts with big wolf-like teeth appeared now and then.

I could’ve died to keep Nora as a pet, this cat who understood me well in an amazing sense, in a manner as if she begged everyday to be let in. I could not have kept her as my family and I were always on the move- being travellers and all- and we could hardly afford the time or even effort or money to sort the cat out let alone ourselves! But Al-Hamdullilah praise is to god, the day we moved from that flat and I saw her totter upstairs with a queer expression on her face…I gingerly stroked her and petted her back (because I’d have to wash my hands after) but thankfully- she was more curious and interested about what went on in the flat than of me! Obviously we’d emptied out the flat, no furniture,nothing.

This is just a short article or a window to her world but in my minds’ eye- the world she showed me cannot be described, or explained.

Every animal has a story, and like Dewey the famous library cat these are just one of many, unique understanding animals that can behave like a strange, warped or rusted key to your heart or presence as a human…And *chink* it unlocks like unbolting an old wood-oak door to a mysterious, secret garden. The garden Nora showed me was like taking another great big breath of life, realistically or not, I know when I’ve come across a diamond in the rough.

You will always be remembered, Nora, wherever you are, dead or alive. You even won over my mothers’ heart- a heart difficult to capture and win over as we all know how hygenic and fussy she is! (no offense, mother!) when Nora is mentioned on our lips or in our hearts or mind it would moisten my eyes; to go back and walk through Memory Lane and just reflect on the past can be -for some people in this world- it is just too difficult and rather emotional.

🙂

Leave a Reply

